It appears my plants like to change only when I am away.

1) My sunflower flowered while I was studying in Germany a few years back. Being an annual plant, it had died by the time I returned. I never got to see the flowers… sigh

2) My Frithia Pulchra bloomed when I was in Europe this year. By the time I got back, i only managed to see the dried up flower…

3) When I was in South Korea last week, my sister texted me that my lithops have splitted! Well, at least this time, I managed to still see the splitting. (It takes a while for the old leaves to dry up.)

Tadah!

<Square pot (outside) Photo taken on 23th August 2013>

IMG_2606

<Square pot (outside) Photo taken almost a year ago on 30th September 2012> (You need to rotate the pot 90deg clockwise to compare with the one above. Click on pic to enlarge)

IMG_7225

As you can see, there is significant growth in all the lithops. They used to be skinny and red, now they are fat and green. (Not sure if it’s good news though. Maybe need more sun to turn reddish again.) My C124 Dorotheae had turned from a sweet orange to ermm.. milky green? C5 actually looked like it was gonna shrink and disappear, but it’s held on for the past year, still looking exactly the same. Strong one. *lol*

Out of the 16 lithops in this pot, 2 have gone to lithops heaven. (C1, C333)

5 have splitted. (Both of the C363 splitted earlier this year. C11, C8, C6A are newly splitting.)

I didn’t have high hopes for C6A because when I bought it from Conos last year, it looked in quite bad condition, oddly shaped with a hole on the top. Unexpectedly, it splitted and out popped a pair of beautiful green baby leaves!

IMG_5459

And a close-up view of the C363 and C11. IMO the new markings on the C11 are gorgeous! :) The two C363 seem to take really long to consume their old leaves though. Could be the high humidity in the air is making it hard for them to absorb their old leaves…

IMG_5398

This pot is showing the best results out of the lithops that I own. In case you wonder, I haven’t done anything to them. Lithops really thrive on NEGLECT. I just leave them outside my house. I think I may have misted them once or twice last year, but no water/fertilizer was given for the past 6 months. It is my most neglected pot, and yet it produced the best results with fewest casualties. Go figure.

To protect this pot from the frequent heavy rains in Singapore, I place a transparency sheet over the pot like a tent. This prevents water from splashing into the pot while allowing ventilation through.

IMG_2641

I believe the lithops are so fat and juicy simply from the moisture in the air (Singapore is hot and humid all year round), so I stopped watering the ones outside. I still occasionally mist the ones that are in my room (windowsill) though.

I know we’re supposed to give them some winter of sorts, otherwise the lithops will expire after a few years. I’ve been experimenting with the smaller pots on my windowsill. I cover them up at specific timings every day to shorten the daylight hours they receive. And I also place them in airtight containers in my fridge for half an hour at night when I have the time. But they don’t seem to have an effect, except to slowly fade away…

