Using the second packet of Lithops seed mix from Cono’s Paradise, I experimented sowing in different media.

<Sand box>
Sowing date: 25th December 2012 (Christmas day!)
Seed source: Lithops seed mix from Cono’s.
Box source: Blueberry packaging from NTUC. The cover was useful to keep moisture in, and there were pre-made holes on the bottom of the box for drainage as well :) However, note that the plastic box is very thin and hence flexible/bendable. Have to be very careful when moving the box because the media will shift when the box shape is changed during lifting, hence hurting the seedlings…
Media: Fine aquarium sand as before in Batch 1. I lined the base with empty teabags (from Daiso) so as to keep the sand from fall out through the holes. It is the woven type teabags, thus considerably durable and wouldn’t disintegrate so easily. It holds the media in, yet allowing excess water to drain out. Actually I do this for ALL my plants, not only Lithops.  I dont like having soil falling out through the pot-holes and leaving patches of soil everywhere…

IMG_8437

IMG_8436

<Quartz box>

Sowing date: 27th December 2012
Seed source: Lithops seed mix from Cono’s.
Box source: Blueberry packaging from NTUC (same as that used for Sand box).
Media: Quartz sand(? grains?) that I bought from an aquarium shop. The same quartz are also used to support the seedlings in Batch 1 as they grow taller. Honestly I have no idea if this is indeed quartz… I did ask the aquarium shopowner, but all I got was a blank face, and “It’s stones lor…” Le sigh  So I just assume by myself that it is quartz. For all purpose on my blog (until otherwise corrected), this will be known as the Quartz box!

IMG_8463

Against the white of the quartz grains, you can see the tiny brown specks which are the Lithops seeds. :)

Frankly speaking, I would really like to try sowing in pure pumice as advised by many Lithops growers in Deutschland, but I am having a hard time finding suitable sized pumice in Singapore. If anyone has any idea where to get them, please let me know! Thanks!

